The Portuguese Chapel is a spectacular monument with a fascinating story behind its existence. This 16th-century chapel, located along the seafront near the Malindi museum, was built before St. Francis Xavier visited Malindi in 1542. The priest buried one of his sailors who died on his ship within the chapel compound. Over the years, however, the chapel grounds have turned into a graveyard of Portuguese tombstones where prominent personalities in the town have also been buried. These include Malindi’s pioneer Commander Lawford, of the popular Lawford Hotel and J. Bell Smith, the first British administrator in Malindi. The chapel building still stands strong till date but its interior has been maintained by the Kenyan museum authorities.