Cherangany Hills

Cherangany hills is the fourth highest mountain range in Kenya and the home to Kenya's five main forests and catchment areas.

Cherangany Hills 1

Cherangani Hills form the Western wall of the Rift Valley stretching North into Uganda. The hills are centered upon a forested escarpment and surrounded on three sides by sheer cliff faces. They are crisscrossed by walking paths, and ease of direction and undemanding slopes make this excellent country for relaxing hill walking.

Unlike most of the mountains in Kenya, the Cherangani Hills are made up by an old fault block formation of non-volcanic origin, forming an undulating upland plateau on the western edge of the Rift Valley overlooking the Lake Turkana Basin.

Cherangany’s 1,140 km2 ecosystem extends across three counties: West Pokot, Trans Nzoia and Elgeyo Marakwet and it comprise of 12 forests sections: Kapolet, Chemurkoi, Cheboyit, Embobut, Kaisungor, Kipkunur, Kiptaberr, Kapkanyar, Sogotio, Toropket, Kerer, Lelan. Cherangany and its associated subtropical indigenous forests are a great natural heritage on Elgeyo Marakwet and its neighboring counties.

Rate this


( 0 )
error: Content is protected !!