Covering an area of about 140,698.6km2, the eastern region is bordered to the north with Ethiopia. It the second largest in Kenya hosting a total of 8 counties which are Marsabit, Isiolo, Makueni, Machakos, Embu, Kitui, Tharaka Nithi and Meru.

Amongst all that space you will find a range of attractions & accommodation options to suit you, making it an ideal for a safari stopover en route to the coast or the Nairobi city. Some of the key points of interest include Meru National Park, Machakos People Park, Chyulu Hills and Marsabit National Reserve.

The major ethnic communities in this region are the Meru, Embu and Kamba tribes although that is changing over time with the settlement of other communities. Most of the land is arid and semi-arid. The inhabitants depend on agriculture as the main source of income.  Crops grown in this area include coffee, team barley, flowers, vegetables, wheat, and cotton.


Meru was one of the two areas in which conservationists George Adamson and Joy Adamson raised Elsa the Lioness made famous in the bestselling book and award winning movie Born Free.


Area  140,699 km²
Population 5.668 million (2009)
Region’s Capital Embu
Internet Access Average 4.0 Mbps
Electricity 220/240 Volts AC, 50Hz
Counties in Eastern Kenya Machakos County

Meru County

Embu County

Tharaka Nithi County

Kitui County

Makueni County

Marsabit County

Isiolo County

error: Content is protected !!