Tana River County is one of the forty-seven (47) counties in the Republic of Kenya. The County takes its name from River Tana which is the longest river in Kenya. It is a County in the former Coast Province, Kenya with an area of 35,375.8 square kilometres. The administrative headquarter of the county is Hola. The County has three sub-counties; Bura, Galole and Garsen.

The river is navigable by a small craft for about 150 miles (240 km) upstream, often with difficulty. In the upper catchment, Sasumua Dam provides water for Nairobi. Kindaruma, at Seven Forks, is the site of a hydroelectric project, and an irrigation project at Embu provides water for rice cultivation.


  • Tana River has the longest and oldest natural wildlife corridor that starts north in Baomo, Ras Kamboni Somalia through Kora
  • Learn about history,  cultures, and way of life of the Pokomo People who are indigenous to Tana River, and its major tribe
  • Hike up the 442ms high Kora Rock for awe-inspiring views and from where G. Adamson summoned his lions each day
  • River Tana is the major physical feature in the county and offers an important lifeline for farmers and fishing communities of Tana


error: Content is protected !!