Kirinyaga County is one of the 47 counties in Kenya which borders three counties namely Nyeri, Murang’a and Embu. It covers an area of 1,478.1 square kilometers and lies between 1,158 meters and 5,380 meters above sea level in the South and at the Peak of Mt. Kenya respectively. It is endowed with a forest cover of 350.7 Km2 and is inhabited by a variety of wildlife including elephants, buffaloes, monkeys, bushbucks, and colorful birds while the lower parts of the forest zone provide grazing land for livestock. The county has six major rivers which drain into the Tana River.

Kirinyaga county is an agrarian county that grows some of the best coffee in the world, tea and best aromatic rice in the East Africa region. Moreover, the county boasts of agricultural exports such as horticulture and macadamia.

Kirinyaga is literally translated as the dwelling place of God in the Kikuyu language. Kirinyaga county is situated at the foot of Mt. Kenya where traditionally the Kikuyu community offered their prayers to God. It is thus a symbolic county culturally, religiously and economically. With the sessional paper titled “The Mountain Cities Blueprint” being developed by Governor Waiguru, Kirinyaga is set to become the health, wellness, organic and resort hub of the world by 2032.



  • Mt. Kenya National Park located in the upper parts of Kirinyaga County boasts of thick indigenous forests.
  • A lot of wildlife, and cottages providing a serene environment for both domestic and foreign tourists.
  • Kirinyaga County is primarily an agricultural driven region and the main crops include rice which is grown in paddies in the lower zones and tea which is grown in the upper parts of the county.
  • Coffee is also a major crop grown in the upper and middle zones. Other major crops grown include bananas, tomatoes, beans, mangoes, maize and other horticultural crops.
error: Content is protected !!